In my first post I made a passing remark that may have made it seem like I dislike the casual gaming market. This couldn't be further from the truth. While I don't have much time for it personally I do own a Sony tablet and I will occasionally grab a free game to kill some time with, although my Wii has sat completely unused since about two weeks after I got it back in 2010 on a massive reduction. The casual market might not be for me but I do respect it and it's place in the industry, be it touch screen or motion controlled gaming.

A lot of the criticism of the casual market, particularly the touch screen, app based portion of it, is how simple the games are. This is total crap. These games are not simply "simple" they are just small, mechanic based experiences, like the games many of us grew up with. Is Temple Run's slidey, tiltey fun really in any way more offensive to hardcore gamers' sensibilities than jumping over barrel's in pursuit of a girlfriend-kidnapping primate? Mario Bros. can be boiled down to "hold right and tap jump a bit". As game engines, graphics and mechanics become more complex and impressive do we really expect ALL games to become more and more complicated? Is there people out there complaining when movies out there don't use CGI or 3D.  Just because the technology is there and you can use it, doesn't mean you must or even should.The really popular titles are original and fun little ideas, much like the games of our childhoods. Yes there's countless knock offs littering the online marketplace but they get the scorn they deserve. People love Angry Birds, they'll play Angry Birds and they will either ignore or ridicule ever Miffed Pigeons that comes their way.

The other side to simplicity is the controls. Touch screen and motion controls are not just useless gimmicks, they are training tools. When I was young I was playing with a joystick or a d-pad and maybe to or three face buttons on my controllers. Now we get two thumbsticks, a d-pad, 6 face buttons and 4 shoulder buttons. It wasn't always like this. I still remember not liking the analog sticks on my PS2 controller but then getting used to them to the point where playing my PS1 titles can be a pain in the hole if they were made pre-dualshock. We learned and we developed muscle memory slowly as controller's grew in size and complexity. Right now to a non-gamer a joypad can look quite intimidating. The Wii, Wii U and touch screen devices let's them wave and slide and stroke their way to comprehension with a spattering of button based interactions.

Casual games might not be for me but then again neither is Sesame Street or The Hungry Caterpillar, but I'm not going to direct my ire at what is essentially the building blocks of the medium I love.



Leave a Reply.